WPC Officers lay on hands in prayer at the new officers’ ordination

The principle of shared leadership is very important to Presbyterians. Pastors and staff work in partnership with the many gifted members of our congregation to guide Westminster’s mission and ministry.

We are led by two bodies, the Session and the Diaconate, and members of each lead various church committees. We believe the Spirit works best when we gather in community together to work out ideas and shape ministries. Sometimes this takes a bit more time, but it also — at its best — gives everyone a chance to share their gifts.

The Session

The Session is the main governing body in the Presbyterian Church, entirely responsible for worship, programs, finances, and facilities. But, more importantly, they work in partnership with the staff to discern the guiding vision of this place and to provide spiritual leadership as we seek to follow Christ together. Each year four elders are elected to three-year terms, and one youth elder may also be elected to a one-year term, for a total of thirteen rotating leaders.

Moderator:  Chris Tuttle   Clerk:  Sally Keener
2021 Class:   Elizabeth Feiler, Jennifer Feiler, Mark Hill, Jim Ketch, Linda Van Gombos
2022 Class:  Margaret Falkovic, Kim Garcia, John Messick, Russ Lange
2023 Class:  Suze Bear, Ruth Caccavale, Geoff Vaughn, David Wilcox

Session Committees & Leadership

Christian Education:  Children & Youth – Jennifer Feiler; Adults – Margaret Falkovic
Nominating:  Kim Garcia, chair
Personnel:  Russ Lange, chair
Stewardship:  Kim Garcia, chair
Ways & Means Commission:  John Messick, chair
Worship:  Mark Hill, Jim Ketch, co-chairs
Youth Council:  Margaret Falkovic

The Diaconate

Deacons find their roots in scripture in Acts 6, in which the first disciples empower a separate group of leaders to serve in areas of service and fellowship (Greek for servant/service is diakonia). They largely guide our mission life, as well as the ways we care for each other. Each year seven deacons are elected to three-year terms, for a total of twenty-one rotating leaders.

Moderator:  Rachel Chang   Clerk:  Lee Patterson
2021 Class:  Margaret Dean, Peggy Force, Bob Lamont, Jimmy McIntyre, Lee Patterson, Anne Sherman, Amy Stanfield
2022 Class: Mark Foskey, Jami Howell, Emmy Huckabee, Mike Meyen, Pat Trost, Lenette Whitworth
2023 Class:  Jim Elkins, Spenser Leslie, Pru Meyer, Sarah Motsinger, Ella Nichols, Tom Tolley, Ellen Vogel, Elsa Woods

Diaconate Committees & Leadership

Assimilation:  Mike Meyen, chair
Congregational Care:  Peggy Force, chair
Fellowship:  John Lockhead, chair
Global Missions:  Jami Howell, chair
Local Missions:  Mark Foskey, chair