The Diaconate

Deacons find their roots in scripture in Acts 6, in which the first disciples empower a separate group of leaders to serve in areas of service and fellowship (Greek for servant/service is diakonia). They largely guide our mission life, as well as the ways we care for each other. Each year seven deacons are elected to three-year terms, for a total of twenty-one rotating leaders.

Moderator:  Rachel Chang   Clerk:  Lee Patterson

2020 Class:  Rachel Chang, Susan Chesser, Thomas Hill (youth), Todd Hill, Neil McElroy, Shirley Rufty, Kim Tupper, Jim Young
2021 Class:  Margaret Dean, Peggy Force, Bob Lamont, Jimmy McIntyre, Lee Patterson, Anne Sherman, Amy Stanfield
2022 Class: Mark Foskey, Jami Howell, Emmy Huckabee, Mike Meyen, Pat Trost, Lenette Whitworth

Diaconate Committees & Leadership

Assimilation:  Todd Hill, chair; Margaret Dean, Mike Meyen
Congregational Care:  Susan Chesser, chair; Peggy Force, Amy Stanfield, Pat Trost, Lenette Whitworth
Fellowship:  Shirley Rufty, chair; Bob Lamont
Global Missions:  Neil McElroy, chair; Bo Ferguson, Jimmy McIntyre
Local Missions:  Kim Tupper, chair; Rachel Chang, Mark Foskey, Thomas Hill, Emmy Huckabee, Lee Patterson, Anne Sherman, Amy Stanfield, Pat Trost, Jim Young (Neighborhood Missions chair)